Much Ado About Stalking

Finally saw Twilight last week and as expected the movie was..meh. A few scenes were outright gag-worthy, others were more tolerable, and the rest was just okay. Compared to the book though, I'd have to agree that the movie was so much better, mostly because of the reduction in the gag factor. Which got me thinking. About Edward and his certifiably something fan base and how people will, for a pretty face, overlook any character flaw be it extreme sappiness or the propensity to stalk someone, as stalk Bella Edward certainly does. In fact, people do more than overlook Edward's 'flaws', they love him for it. The film even has an ode to the depths of sappiness that Edward will sink to (in the guise of Bella's lullaby). Somewhat surprisingly, however, there is no stalker song in the movie.

This leads me to my next brain wave–stalker songs. We can all think of a few, can't we? The Police's Every Breath You Take for example, probably the definitive stalker song of the past century. And then there's Blondie's One Way or Another. Wait till the 0:49 second mark when Debbie Harry promises to "drive past your house" in that deep voice of hers and if that doesn't freak you out (or turn you on), I don't know what will. Then of course there's that stalker song that sneaks up on you, waiting to be picked on your shuffle list, and it's not until you start to really listen to the lyrics one day (or belt it out in an ill-advised karaoke session) when it dawns on you that, omg, this is a seriously creepy song. I can think of at least two songs which fit that bill: Crash Into Me (Dave Matthews Band) and Goodnight and Go (Imogen Heap), both of which start off innocently enough, then proceed to get creepier by the second. The final song to round off my stalker playlist? I'd have to go for Sarah McLachlan's Possession, which was inspired by an actual stalker. Inspire might not be the best word actually–McLachlan reportedly wrote the song to help her cope with an obsessive fan who claimed he was in love with her.

What's your favorite stalker song?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

16 thoughts on “Much Ado About Stalking

  1. Hi Vids, correct me if I'm wrong. I also read somewhere that Possession was written by Sarah because she was assaulted or something. Actually somebody made that comment in Youtube.Regarding the Twilight movie, I watched it twice. Watched it by my lonesome the first time and with JC and Drew the 2nd time around. It was my birthday gift of some sort, haha! I was hanging out with them and they wanted to watch the movie so I obliged even though I watched it already. I just had fun comparing the crowd though. The first time I watched, the Gateway cinema was full of students and it seemed 90% of the crowd have read the book 'cause they were already screeching when Jacob Black made his first appearance. The same cannot be said for the SM Marikina crowd though. I guess the movie was better in some way 'cause I have this gay friend who haven't read the books but fell in love with Edward/RPattz, hehe. So he bought the books after watching the movie.

  2. My stalker song by the way is "Your House" by Alanis Morissette. Technically dili jud stalker kay it sounded like wa siya ka move on sa iyang ex, hehe.
    "Would you forgive me love
    If I danced in your shower
    Would you forgive me love
    If I laid in your bed
    Would you forgive me love
    If I stay all afternoon"

  3. I'm not sure about the actual assault ever happening but Possession was written because of an actual stalker she had. Sarah said something (sa VH1 Storytellers man tingali) about it being from the perspective of the stalker mismo. I guess it helped her understand him a little bit. That's what I heard anyway. Strange thing about these stalker songs kay we can kinda relate to them, no? When we're not thinking of them as stalker songs, that is. 🙂

  4. About Twilight: How irritating is it when people screech sa movies? Ako, tawon, naningkamot gyud ko not to gag so loudly sa sinehan (watched by myself pud) para dili ko mabatukan sa mga tao. Si Zara pud kay she watched the movie first, read the book later and na in love siya ni Edward from the movies. Ako, kay RPattz fan kay he doesn't seem to like the books any more than we do. Hehehe. And he's British. So plus points just for that.

  5. Dyuker kaayo akong bro Vids. Though I commend him for not watching the movie despite reading my books over and over again (must be his pride, haha), gipatusan niya ang Twilight torrent na cam-quality lang. He then commented na RPattz looked like Ed Westwick in some angles. And he also knew that both are Brits. Showbiz pud diay kaayo akong kuya dah, haha!I hope lang sa next installment they can find a better make-up artist. I mean okayhan ra man ko sa pagkaputi/vampire look nila Stuart Townsend, Brad, Tom and even Antonio Banderas, hehe…

  6. Hi, Vidz! I cannot remember any stalker song at the moment. But I'm guessing why I (and most other fans probably) did not bother about Edward's obvious flaw of being a stalker. Truth is, if we like the person who stalks us, the stalking it is downright flattering. You naturally think that he can't have enough of you, and since you also want him to begin with, you can easily mistake the stalking for something else–something great.It would have been completely different if I wasn't attracted to Edward (yes, at this point it could only have been physical). I would have labeled and dismissed him as a stalker at the first instance ;)Clarie sent me links on RPattz interviews. I liked him more when I heard him diss the books and the author!

  7. Naks Mae. Nalingaw ko sa imong Kuya. At least wala siya nagshell-out ug money to watch the film sa sinehan. 🙂 And bitaw, puti ra kaayo ang make-up sa vamps. Labi na si Carlisle. What's expression, mukhang espasol? Hehehe.

  8. Hey Zar! I get your point about stalking being less, um, creepy if you're attracted to the guy. For me, there's another reason why perhaps we should feel a little sympathy for Edward—if we're truly being honest, then haven't we all, at some point or another, if not actually done the deed to some extent, then at least, wanted to do so, even if it were in some little way such as looking up another person's class schedule? Doesn't that make stalking at the very least, more palatable a crime than, say, sappiness? Okay. Maybe not. Stalking may after all be deemed illegal, while extreme sappiness is not (though Smeyer definitely makes me feel like it should be).Nalingaw pud ko sa Rob interviews! Favorite nako ang "this woman is mad!" interview and the getting Rupert Grint stuck at reading Twilight article. Forget Edward. Team Rob na ko all the way.

  9. LOL. Thanks for the links Mae! Grabe akong katawa. Kadtong last ba, Sarah Michelle Gellar never actually laughed at the plot, did she? Hinimo lang sa tao na gif no? I thought for a second she might have actually laughed about it and na document nila.

  10. Yup, hinimo lang toh ang gif Vids. Genius jud naghimo ato, hehe. Choloks man gud ning mga community members/users sa Oh No They Didn't. Some of them are tired na siguro of all the Twilight posts. Haha!

  11. Aww…thanks Mae! I've always had this soft spot for Angel. Bisan si Spike dili ka lupig. Hoy smeyer, take note, that's how you write a handsome, brooding and sensitive vampire.

Leave a Reply

